2023 Winner

Namita ThaparNamita Thapar MBA '01

Executive Director, Emcure Pharmaceuticals



Mrs. Namita Thapar is the Executive Director of Emcure Pharmaceuticals, a global pharmaceutical company headquartered in Pune with a turnover of 6000 crores ($750 million). It has a presence in 70+ countries and an employee strength of over 10,000.

Namita is an MBA graduate from the Fuqua School of Business and a Chartered Accountant from ICAI.

She is a recipient of various prestigious corporate awards such as the 40 under Forty award by Economic Times, Top 50 Most Powerful Women in business by Business Today and Forbes Asia Power Businesswomen 2022.

Outside of work, Namita is passionate about improving women’s health in India and promoting entrepreneurship. Namita has launched a unique YouTube talk show on women’s health called Uncondition Yourself with Namita. She leads Thapar Entrepreneurs Academy that teaches entrepreneurship and is part of the global television show Shark Tank India.

What impact has your Fuqua experience had on your career/life?

The Fuqua experience most certainly gave me an invaluable toolkit to think through the complex problems I handle while leading my company. In addition, it taught me important intangibles like the power of collaboration, networks, and contribution to the larger community.

Professionally or personally, what are you excited about right now?

I am excited about the strides I am making through my company Emcure and my you tube channel (Uncondition Yourself with Namita) in increasing awareness, access, and affordability around women’s health in my country. I have been running my entrepreneurship academy for the past 6 years but now Shark Tank India has given me a global canvas to use the power of my voice not just to mentor start-ups but also to address important and taboo issues that need a mind set change.

What does this Fuqua award mean to you?

When I had moved from India to join Fuqua in my twenties, I was this girl in awe and with stars in her eyes. Today, while receiving this prestigious award, I yet again feel overwhelmed and humbled like that girl twenty years back. Thank you, Team Fuqua, for this incredible honor.


Year Recipients
2021-22 Beth Bafford '06, MBA '12

Kelly J. Clark MBA '07

Kathy Baughman McLeod MBA '12

2019-20 Warren Osborn MBA '99
Jessica Yinka Thomas MBA '04  

TJ Abrams MBA '09

Brian Hamilton MBA '90

2017-18 Allison Fansler MBA '06
Terry Tucker MBA '98
 2016-17 Tom Mitchell MBA '07
Peter Warlick MBA '94
 2015-16 Tim Jeffries MBA '03
 2014-15 Alex Michalko MBA '10
Jeff Jablow MBA '05
 2013-14 John Troy MBA '09 
 2012-13  Paula Alexander MBA '98
 2011-12  Paul Sansone MBA '92